BLANK

3 comments

  1. Hot damn, this was a good post! Solidarity and congratulations on saying something important and saying it so well.

  2. I thought that was an excellent article; intelligently and calmly put together on an issue that is highly important and can often sound hysterical or embittered! I look forward to reading more of your thoughts…

  3. Interesting. I definitely remember being allowed a Barbie. I wonder whether that means that Mom’s feminist principles hadn’t taken hold as fully at that stage, that she thought I was more likely to stand strong against the inherent sexism vibes that she believed to be issuing forth from the Barbie, or that she thought I was beyond redemption anyway and might as well enjoy Barbie to my heart’s content?

    Anyway, more to the point, I thought this was a great article. I would also add that I find the whole idea of a march ‘against male violence against women’ to be sexist in itself, not to mention heterosexist – apparently female violence against men and violence within same-sex relationships are both considered not worthy of campaigning against.

    I think the problem is that people would rather go on a march (big, flashy, looks great, feels satisfying) than actually get down to the nitty-gritty of useful campaigning. It’s what’s known as ‘slactivism’.

Leave a Reply

