It’s Not Just Bossy- Some Other Supposedly Gender Neutral Words That Are Only Ever Used To Describe Women

Facebook’s Sheryl Sandberg and Beyonce want to ban the word ‘bossy‘, saying that it is used to undermine girls and women and discourage them from taking on leadership roles.  Instead we should use the word ‘leader.’  But bossy isn’t the only word used to subtly keep women down.  Here are some other examples of words which are almost exclusively used to describe women.

 

Bubbly

Feisty

Strident

Blonde

Brunette

Career orientated

Shrill

Sassy

Frumpy

Shapely

Vivacious

High Maintenance

Independent

Dippy

Ditzy

Scatty

Bitter

Domineering

Barren

Frigid

Manipulative

Gossip

Nag

Working…

Beautiful

Overbearing

Headstrong

Contrary

Judgemental

Battle-axe

Hormonal

Any more?

5 comments

  1. I’d actually disagree with some of these being words only used for women (Independent, bitter, domineering, judgemental), but maybe that’s just me personally. Of course, there are also words which are only ever used to describe men… (weedy, burly, macho, boistrous, yob, layabout, waster, etc etc) – there are always going to be gendered words which are offensive in some way because of it – it’s whether we choose to use them or make it acceptable to use them that is the issue.

  2. Oh yes I can also list words almost solely used when describing men:

    Macho
    Cracka
    Burly
    Wanker
    Neanderthal
    Neolithic
    Handsome
    Hot-headed
    Sharp (As in looking sharp)
    Chiseled

    These are just at the top of my head. What’s really your point? Yes there are words to describe women and words to describe men. I’m not bothered it. My friends are not bothered by it. No male is bothered by it. Why would you care? I thought feminists were about equality and saying how women being sensitive is a stereotype, yet, a perfect example of it is right here. If you don’t want to be called “beautiful” or “independent” that’s fine with me.

    Oh and I’m pretty sure males are also called “judgemental,” “domineering,” “manipulative,” and “career oriented.” They are definitely used for both genders.

    To continue my point with your list being not sexually exclusive, I will give you some examples in which some of the words in your list are commonly used in males.

    A working man is a healthy man.
    That teen boy sure is acting hormonal today.
    Ugh, my husband is so high maintenance! He never washes his dish after himself!
    My husband is so domineering at times. He never lets me spend money on hair products.

    I here similar variations of the above sentences ALL the time. I could do more sentences but I don’t know what a lot of those words mean (I’m 15 years old).

Leave a Reply

